Words of humor and wisdom on Father’s Day

Today is Father’s Day and the Twittersphere is celebrating as only it can. Both humor and wisdom abound.

Happy #fathersday everyone – How are you spoiling the big man today? Nothing says 'I love you dad' better than a a pair of socks. Trust.

— T4 (@T4witter) June 17, 2012

https://twitter.com/Sathnam/status/214277906669633536

No man stands so tall as the one who bends down to help a child. #fathersday

— Mike Said (@mike_said_what) June 17, 2012

#fathersday so true! http://t.co/iOg9aTr1

— Mark Robinson (@robboma3) June 17, 2012

Fathers fighting for freedom around the world are honored.

To the sons and daughters, who because of our freedom, do not have fathers, we honour you today. #FathersDay

— ManqobaCNtshingila©® (@chiefntshingila) June 17, 2012

Happy Fathers Day all the dads in the Irish Defence Forces #fathersday http://t.co/JdGqcTnS

— Irish Defence Forces (@defenceforces) June 17, 2012

*Sniffle*

Members of the media get in on the act.

A Father's Day card for the Twitter era – hilarious. Thanks @spencermorgan93 @Stan_Morgan1 & Bertie #TopSons pic.twitter.com/LI8nsZFI

— Piers Morgan (@piersmorgan) June 17, 2012

I love my dad. He'll be at church this morning, behind the pulpit, so he won't see this, & he doesn't do social… http://t.co/zCpHrEH6

— Contessa Brewer (@contessabrewer) June 17, 2012

I haven't learned any key to being great father. But I think it begins with leading w/ your heart.

— Scott Simon (@nprscottsimon) June 17, 2012

What are your Father’s Day plans? I’m looking forward to eating Maryland Blue steamed crabs at my folks house in Reading, PA.

— Clayton Morris (@ClaytonMorris) June 17, 2012

Yum! Enjoy Clayton and daddy.

Politicians pause to reflect on fathers as well.

Wishing all the dads a Happy #FathersDay! It takes a real man to be a father.

— Isaac Hayes (@isaac_hayes) June 17, 2012

Happy #Father’sDay! I’ll be on @CBSSunday at 9AM for 1st interview about #AnAmericanSon. http://t.co/R1FkBbu6 #sundaymorning #sayfie #tcot

— Marco Rubio (@marcorubio) June 17, 2012

Matt Romney is spending the day with his daddy.

happy #fathersday, dad! looking forwarding to spending day w u on the bus tour in OH. #mitt2012

— Matt Romney (@Matt_Romney) June 17, 2012

And still more Father’s Day wisdom.

If your dad is not on twitter, instead off happy fathers daying him here, you might wanna call him

— MAKHOSI (@MAKOSI) June 17, 2012

Not writing happy fathers day on here because he doesn't have twitter lol. #CommonSense

— Curtis Obeng (@curtisobeng) June 17, 2012

My father said there are 2 kinds of people in the world: givers & takers.The takers may eat better, but the givers sleep better. #fathersday

— Farhan Masood (@farhanmasood) June 17, 2012

"No Father's day gifts. Just write me a card…Of course I'm kidding. Buy me shit, I created you." (New book out now: http://t.co/mJOlfJRZ)

— Justin (@shitmydadsays) June 14, 2012

A lie in, Breakfast made and cards that have brought tears of joy to my eyes. The BEST #fathersday yet!

— Paul Robson (@paulmrobson) June 17, 2012

"Dad"…still my favorite word that comes out of my son's mouth. #blessed

— LZ Granderson (@Locs_n_Laughs) June 17, 2012

As it's Fathers' Day, it's worth pointing out that my Dad wouldn't beat up your Dad, because my Dad is better than that.

— Mike Rampton (@mikeisbrill) June 17, 2012

A Dad is someone who wants to catch you before you fall but instead picks you up, brushes you off, and lets you try again.Happy Father's Day

— Paige Moonshade (@PaigeMoonShade) June 17, 2012

For my father, gone but not forgotten: every step I take upon the world leaves his footprint, as well as mine.

— John Hayward (@Doc_0) June 17, 2012

Happy Fathers Day to all the Dads, whether they b near or far, b with us or watching over us. Have a wonderful day. #fathersday

— Rima Shah (@Calmandclear) June 17, 2012

Amen.

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there!

Read more: http://twitchy.com/2012/06/17/words-of-humor-and-wisdom-on-fathers-day/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *